Bar Cart DIY

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

So truth be told, this isΒ notΒ an actual bar cart. My mom is an esthetician and it is actually an old waxing/facial cart she had in her spa. It also used to be white-which was fine for her purposes, but when I knew what I wanted to use it for, the white had to go and with the help of my lovely boyfriend, we spray painted it gold πŸ™‚

We bought the record player about 4 years ago and have had it in every home we’ve had, aside from Florida, so moving back to California we immediately knew we’d be reunited with it and couldn’t wait to buy more records! The first of which was Bruno Mars’ 24K (we’re obsessed), with Keith Urban’s Ripcord (my all time favorite album) coming in soon.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Whenever we have a date night in or are cooking together we usually will throw in a Frank Sinatra record or Italian record of some sort. The latest additions to our record collection are actually 2 Disney movie soundtracks that we bought during our DisneyWorld trip: The Little Mermaid (my favorite Disney movie) and then The Lion King (Joey’s favorite Disney movie) and we recently bought the soundtrack to *nerd alert* The Guardians of the Galaxy on vinyl- but seriously, that “Awesome Mix” playlist is pretty great.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

The shelves are decorated with pictures, candles, and some coffee table-esque books. That picture in the background is actually a postcard from our favorite Italian restaurant back in Fort Lauderdale, FL, Louie Bossi’s; which you can read about here, if you’d like πŸ™‚

And then of course, some decorative polaroid photos (I have a pretty big obsession with my polaroid camera and have polaroid photos everywhere).

Β The two cups are from Francesca’s and are so much fun- they even came with drink recipes that we are looking forward to trying!

The photo on the second shelf is of my sister and I kissing Joey at my best friend’s wedding. Amilee and Joey are literally two of the most important people in my life; so I needed to have them both represented somewhere πŸ™‚

Tips for spray painting furniture

-Make sure you buy the right type of spray paint: this depends on the material that you’re spray painting, they have different paints for metal, wood, aluminum, plastic, etc. If you don’t use the right one; the paint won’t adhere to your piece.

-Put newspaper down EVERYWHERE! We forewent this and now have an entirely gold porch.

-Apply paintΒ evenly.Β You don’t want certain areas to look heavier/darker than others. Especially if your furniture is going to be in a space that gets a lot of light, making uneven application even more noticeable.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Happy Sunday friends! See you next time.

xoxo,

Amanda

9 thoughts on “Bar Cart DIY

  1. Amanda

    Your writing is really good! Very interesting and informative! I really enjoy the way you write. I love you and love how smart and creative you are! Love βŒβ­•οΈ, MOM

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Well done! I love the aesthetics of the cart and all the knickknacks on it. πŸ™‚ That’s amazing they’re still pressing records – there are a couple of record shops around town that seem pretty busy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. For a once waxing/facial cart it totally makes for a great interior decoration! I love how everything is presented and laid out πŸ™‚ I also loveee polaroids, I’ve been wanting to get a camera so that I can make some cool collages!

    xo, JJ

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yess, I’ve been dropping hints to Andrew lol I’m like you knowww my birthday is coming up (ehem August) and I reaaaallly want to make Polaroid collages….if only I had a Polaroid camera… hahah πŸ™‚ Hopefully that worked!

        Like

Leave a Reply

